New Jessica Lea Mayfield Album Imminent–Listen to New Songs

Feb 24th, 2014 in Music


The sultry-noir songbook of Ohio’s Jessica Lea Mayfield will soon be augmented with the release of her new album, Make My Head Sing, on April 15th on ATO Records.  We have loved Mayfield’s music from the moment we encountered it and have been anxiously awaiting the follow-up to her outstanding 2011 album, Tell Me.  The new album was co-produced by Mayfield and Jesse Newport (her husband, bassist and cohort) and consists primarily of Mayfield, Newport and drummer Matt Martin in a stripped-down, but full sound.  About the album, Mayfield says:  “I think a lot of my favorite bands are guitar, bass, and drums. I wanted to simplify things. Bands are so big these days, I wanted to get in the studio and make a rock record and hear real guitar tones and something heavy.”

You can hear the menacing heaviness below on the crunchy-fuzz found on album-opener Oblivious, which provides a fitting setting to Mayfield’s mesmerizing vocals.  Afterwards, listen to I Wanna Love You, with its psych-jangle mien and simmeringly-sinister lyrics (we previously featured stripped-down versions of this song HERE and another song off the new album, Do I Have The Time?, HERE).

These new songs from Mayfield bode incredibly well for Make My Head Sing, which you can pre-order HERE.  The album’s tracklist is at bottom.  We can’t wait.

Make My Head Sing:

1. Oblivious
2. I Wanna Love You
3. Standing In The Sun
4. Pure Stuff
5. Do I Have The Time?
6. Party Drugs
7. Unknown Big Secret
8. Anything You Want
9. No Fun
10. Seein’ Starz

1 Comment


Comments have been closed for this post.